Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Trio élégiaque

for flute, oboe and bassoon

Year:  2016   ·  Duration:  11m 30s

Year:  2016
Duration:  11m 30s

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: first two pages of each movement

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Trio élégiaque was composed in 2014 and 2016 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The piece is in three short movements. The first movement was arranged in 2014 for flute, guitar and cello from an earlier piece for clarinet in B flat and piano (or harp) composed in 1999. To this I added a second movement written for the same trio combination. Both movements were arranged in this definitive version for woodwind trio in June 2016, with the final movement added in August 2016.

I gave the piece the title Trio élégiaque due to the elegiac character of parts of the second movement, which was composed around the time of the twin airplane disasters that hit Malaysia in 2014. The unusual and tragic circumstances of both incidents were very much on my mind while composing this movement. The third movement is declamatory in tone while the flavour of the first, by way of contrast, is more pastoral.

Trio élégiaque is dedicated to Dr. Leroy Osman and ‘Chamber Music Merida!’ of Merida, Yucatan, Mexico in response to the call for scores for the inaugural 2016–17 La Hacienda Xcanatun concert series. This dedication is in appreciation for Dr. Osman’s initiative in founding this series.


Dedication note

to Dr. Leroy Osman and ‘Chamber Music Merida!’ of Merida, Yucatan, Mexico.