Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Symphony No. 1

for orchestra

Year:  1990   ·  Duration:  25m
Instrumentation:  3*223*; 4331; timp., 2 perc; strings

Year:  1990
Duration:  25m
Instrumentation  3*223*; 4331; timp., 2 perc...

Denis Betro

Composer:   Denis Betro

Films, Audio & Samples

Denis Betro: Symphony No.1 ...

Internal audio
See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


At age 15, during school holidays, I hitch-hiked the length of New Zealand from Dunedin to Auckland with various side trips in between. The sheer beauty and panorama of rolling hills, lofty mountains and shimmering sea entered my soul and stayed there. Sleeping rough in the great openness somehow connected me to the natural wonders that were all around me and this connection became ingrained and part of my being. The composing of my first symphony allowed me to relive that life changing experience and the work recalls impressions and emotions that I felt at the time, but not specific places.

– Denis Betro

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Orchestra of the Twentieth Century

Difficulty note

Professional symphony orchestra

Contents note

I. Allegro molto
II. Largo cantabile
III. Allegro ma non troppo
IV. Presto

Performance history

01 Apr 1990: Performed by the Orchestra of the Twentieth Century at the Mermaid Theatre, London