Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Questioning the Mountains

for violin and piano

Year:  2008   ·  Duration:  5m 30s

Year:  2008
Duration:  5m 30s

Gao Ping

Composer:   Gao Ping

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Audio

Sample: 0'00" - 1'00"

See details ➔
Sample Audio

Sample: 0’00” – 1’00”
from Beer and Watkins | 11 Frames

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Questioning the Mountains was written in June 2008, immediately after the devastating earthquake in my home region of Sichuan.

The piece is a meditation on the tragic event and a nostalgic offering to my motherland. Its slow and procession-like unfolding suggests some kind of ritual, at once sombre and graceful.

A fragment from the Sichuan folksong On the High Mountains becomes a recurring motif, like an unanswered question, which at the end transforms into a repeating bass line which gives the foundation to flourishing melisma in the high register on the piano.

Gao Ping

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Rieko Suzuki

Performance history