Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.
September 25, 2009 11:00AM • Adam Concert Room

Suzuki and Gao


This concert from Rieko Suzuki (violin) and Gao Ping (piano) includes the premiere performance of Jack Body’s Meditations on Michelangelo as a violin and piano work.

In 2007, as a commission from Japanese violinist Rieko Suzuki, Body composed a work for violin and string orchestra, based on an older work Love Sonnets of Michelangelo for two solo singers. The violin, orchestra version has been performed by "Kees Hillhorst and the Ensemble Ruspoli": in 2008 and was also one of the works featured in the "September 2008 NZSO-SOUNZ Readings":

The titles of the movements relate to poems of Michelangelo, which express his adoration of male beauty and lament the ravages of aging.

This work will be performed along with works by Takemitsu, Weijie, Gao and two sonatas by Brahms and Franck.

Start time

September 25, 2009 11:00AM


Adam Concert Room