Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Viola Concerto

for viola and orchestra

Year:  1994   ·  Duration:  14m
Instrumentation:  2222; 1210; 2 perc; strings | (Perc: timpani, susp. cymbal, bass drum, xylo., triangle, marimba, glock, hi-hat, 2 toms, maracas, tam-tam, woodblock)

Year:  1994
Duration:  14m
Instrumentation  2222; 1210; 2 perc; strings...

Composer:   Anthony Ritchie

Films, Audio & Samples

Lilburn's Legacy: Anthony R...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: First 2 pages of each movement.

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The Viola Concerto was written while Ritchie was Composer-in-Residence with the Dunedin Sinfonia in 1994, and first performed in Dunedin the following year, with Donald Maurice as the soloist. It is a personal work in which the viola takes on various characters, and describes human relationships. The solo part speaks in a natural and uncontrived voice, and consequently there are few shows of virtuosity in the concerto. The first movement, allegro tempestuoso, opens in turmoil and includes an idea inspired by one of Bach's Brandenburg concertos. A lighter, folk-like theme emerges and acts as a link to the second main theme which is cooler in mood and tinged with sadness. In the middle section a new idea is played on muted brass interspersed with a lyrical melody on viola. Themes are developed in the orchestra, reaching a climax and leading back to the home key of E. At this point melodic ideas are transformed by a downward, 'weeping' motif which appeared earlier on. This carthartic passage fades and the movement ends quickly, without resolution. The long theme at the start of the slow movement began life as a solo piece, and unfolds slowly on the dorian mode accompanied by simple string chords. The stronger second theme on G has a determined quality about it. A lyrical third theme appears on the woodwinds and uses elements of the opening melody. Ominous rumbles in the bass signify the start of the middle section. A boisterous climax evaporates into the recapitulation, where the opening melody is varied with soft floating flutes and string harmonics. The third movement, a cadenza, follows and acts as a link to the finale. Dance-like in character, the finale provides a resolution to the tensions of the previous movements. Some of the themes are influenced by popular music styles, and near the end there is a slightly slower section which recalls Bluegrass music; this was inspired by the American group, the Blue Sky Mountain Boys. There are three main themes in the movement, and these are combined in counterpoint towards the end. A long pedal note E appears in the Coda, over which the soloist plays a mock-heroic version of the second theme. This is brusquely swept aside by strident and jazzy chords, and the concerto comes to a conclusion.

Commissioned note

Composed as the major work for the Dunedin Sinfonia's composer's residency, 1994 with financial assistance from the Arts Council of NZ- Toi Aotearoa.

Dedication note

Written for Donald Maurice, dedicated to Sandy

Contents note

Four movements - Allegro tempestuoso - Adagio - Cadenza - Vivace

Performance history

30 Jul 1995: Performed by Donald Maurice (viola), Dunedin Sinfonia (now the Southern Sinfonia) conducted by Rita Paczian in the Glenroy Auditorium, Dunedin

02 Oct 2008: NZSM Orchestra

20 Mar 2009: NZSM Lunchtime Concert

13 Sep 2009: Young Musicians Foundation concert

Performed by Timothy Deighton (viola) and the Penn's Woods Festival Orchestra, cond. Grant Cooper

+ Read More