Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for piano trio

Year:  2005   ·  Duration:  8m

Year:  2005
Duration:  8m

Composer:   Samuel Holloway

Films, Audio & Samples

Samuel Holloway: Stapes - A...

Embedded audio
See details ➔

Samuel Holloway: Stapes — V...

Embedded video
See details ➔
Sample Audio

Sample: 0'00"-0'58"

See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Page 1 of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Stapes is the first piece in a series of three trios collectively entitled Middle Ear. The stapes (or stirrup) is the smallest in the chain of three bones that transmit vibrations from the eardrum to the internal ear in the process of transformation of external soundwaves to a response within the listener. In this work, the players work both together and against each other, in individual and collective struggles for articulacy.