Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for orchestra

Year:  2004   ·  Duration:  6m
Instrumentation:  2*22*2*; 4331; timp. 2 perc.; hp; strings | (Percussion: xylophone, vibraphone (with bow), suspended cymbal, crash cymbals, tam-tam, woodblock, bass drum)

Year:  2004
Duration:  6m
Instrumentation  2*22*2*; 4331; timp. 2 perc...

Composer:   Samuel Holloway

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 9-11

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Fault had its genesis in the line 'phrases shifting tectonically' from an electro-acoustic work by John Cousins, and suggestions of subterranean tension and earthquake are perhaps audible. Fault was written in 2004 and was workshopped by the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra and the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra. It was premiered by the NZSO at the 2007 Asia Pacific Festival.

Performance history

16 Nov 2005: Performed in a rehearsed reading by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra conducted by Hamish McKeich as part of the NZSO-SOUNZ Readings

13 Feb 2007: Pacific Dreaming

17 Mar 2012: Hear and Now: New Music from New Zealand and Australia

Performed by the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra for the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra Composers Workshop in 2004

+ Read More