Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for three b-flat clarinets

Year:  2005   ·  Duration:  9m

Year:  2005
Duration:  9m

Composer:   Samuel Holloway

Films, Audio & Samples

Jason Post: A rift in the t...

Embedded video
See details ➔

Kenneth Young introduces 'M...

Embedded audio
See details ➔

Samuel Holloway: Malleus - ...

Embedded audio
See details ➔

Samuel Holloway: Malleus - ...

Embedded video
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Pages 8-9

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The malleus (or hammer) is one of three bones that transmit vibrations from the eardrum to the internal ear in the process of transformation of external sound waves to an emotional or cognitive response within the listener. In Malleus, the trio is treated as a single 'meta-instrument', with each instrument playing a near identical line, though this unison is corrupted with independent tempi and tuning. Malleus was written in 2005 and is the second piece in a series of three trios collectively entitled Middle Ear. It won first prize in the 2005 Lilburn Prize concert at Auckland University.

Performance history

06 Oct 2006: Performed by Andrew Uren, Nicola Walton and Anna McGregor (clarinets) at the Clocktower, University of Auckland

26 Oct 2010: Performed by Andrew Uren, Nicola Walton & Anna McGregor on 15 October 2006 in The Clocktower, University of Auckland, and broadcast on "Sound Lounge", Radio New Zealand Concert

13 Aug 2011: Amazing Maze

22 Nov 2015: Performed by James Fry, Hayden Sinclair and Andrew Uren (clarinets) for hear|say, Tim Melville Gallery, Auckland.

+ Read More