Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


the Edge of the Sea

for soprano, violin, bassoon, bass clarinet, cello, piano

Year:  2020   ·  Duration:  7m

Year:  2020
Duration:  7m

Ihlara McIndoe

Composer:   Ihlara McIndoe

Films, Audio & Samples

Ihlara McIndoe: the Edge of...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: first 4 pages of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Rachel Carson's Silent Spring is recognised as one of the most influential books of the twentieth century and exposes the destruction of wildlife through the widespread use of pesticides. This composition draws from text from a collection of Carson's works. It explores simultaneous existence of beauty and wonder in the world, alongside the terrible, unpalatable fact that we – humans, who rely on, stand in awe in the beauty of, and claim to control and have responsibility over the world – are quickly and horrifically destroying our planet. The title of this piece, 'the Edge of the Sea', of course alludes to one of Carson's works. But I chose this title because of a future it represents. The edge of the sea of course, is strange and beautiful, as Carson wrote. But this idea of the edge of the sea also reflects our current precarious relationship with our environment: on the edge of an irreversible catastrophe, starting with our oceans, and severely impacting our entire planet.

Text note

Text by Rachel Carson