Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Four Māui Legends (Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra)

for clarinet and orchestra

Year:  2013 Instrumentation:  solo clarinet; 3*3*3*2; 4331; timp., 3 perc; hp; strings | (Extensive assorted percussion)

Year:  2013
Instrumentation  solo clarinet; 3*3*3*2; 433...

Kit Powell

Composer:   Kit Powell

Films, Audio & Samples

Kit Powell: I. Te Ika a Mau...

Embedded audio
See details ➔

Kit Powell: III. Na Maui te...

Embedded video
See details ➔

Kit Powell: IV. I Mate a Mā...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: First two pages of each movement

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This is pure program music. I wanted to write a sort of New Zealand Till Eulenspiegel and chose four Māui legends. Although I am not a great admirer of Richard Strauss, I do think his Till Eulenspiegels lustige Streiche is a masterpiece. In many ways Māui is similar to Till Eulenspiegel: his audacity, his vitality and his humour.

The figure of Māui is played by the clarinet, a part which is so important that the work became a Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra.

Four Māui Legends is an orchestral work in four movements:

1. Te Ika a Māui (The Fish of Māui) Māui dreams of going fishing with his older brothers. When they refuse to take him he hides in their canoe with his magic hook. They are very annoyed when they find him but with his powerful "karakia" (magic spell) he helps his brothers to a fabulous catch. Then he lets down his own special hook and catches something unbelievably big which leads to a herculean struggle. He has fished up Aotearoa, New Zealand. While he is going to get help, the brothers start cutting up the "huge fish" and then realise that the gods are not pleased with them.

2. I mau a Tama te Rā i a Māui (Māui Slows the Sun) In the beginning the sun moved too rapidly around the earth so that the days were too short for the people to do all their work. Māui and his friends travel to the place where the sun rises out of a pit. They build a snare of ropes over the pit to catch the sun as it rises and they beat it mercilessly until it agrees to move more slowly. The people of Māui’s whānau are very proud of him.

3. Na Māui te Ahi a te Ao (Māui Brings Fire to the World) Māui wonders where fire comes from. In the night he puts out all the fires in the village. The people are very upset but Māui promises to go to the fire goddess and bring fire back again. Mahuika, the fire goddess lives in a cave in the fiery mountain. She receives Māui and gives him a burning fingernail. The wicked Māui wonders how long she would continue tearing out her own nails to give him fire. He drops the nail in a stream and returns to ask again—and again and again until Mahuika is furious. She chases him away and pursues him. He changes himself into a hawk to escape but she sets the forests on fire. Māui dives into a river to save himself. Later he finds out that some of the trees in the forest have kept Mahuika's fire. He teaches the villagers how to make fire using the wood of these trees.

4. I Mate a Māui i a Hine-nui-te-Pō (The Death of Māui) Māui decides to conquer death, Hine-nui-te-Pō, the Great Lady of the Night. Māui's father warns him not to try to kill Hine-nui-te-Pō for he would surely die, since he, the father, had omitted saying an important prayer when Māui was born. Māui ignores his father and asks the birds if they will accompany him. The fantail, tiwakawaka, dances a haka and Māui joins in. He changes himself into a sparrowhawk and they all fly off. They arrive at Rarohenga, the home of Hine-nui-te-Pō. She is asleep. Māui warns the birds to be very quiet and not to laugh. He changes himself into a caterpillar to enter the godess. But the fantail can contain his laughter no longer and then all the birds laugh too. Hine-nui-te-Pō awakes and crushes Māui between her legs. All the people are very sad and sing a Waiata Tangi (lament). Māui, as a spirit, decides to change the mood of this sadness: they should celebrate his life, not mourn his death. He is dead but nevertheless immortal for he lives on for ever in the hearts of the people.

Contents note


  1. Te Ika a Māui (The Fish of Māui)
    Percussion 1: String of Small Bells, 4 Wood Blocks, Suspended Cymbal (small), Crash Cymbals, Medium Gong, Deep Gong
    Percussion 2: 4 Tomtoms, Susp. Cymbal (large), Bass Drum, Snare Drum

  2. I Mau a Tama te Rā i a Māui (Māui Slows the Sun)
    Percussion 1: Guiro, Maraca, Sleigh Bells, Wood Block, Snare Drum, Susp. Cymbal (small), Crash Cymbals, Tambourine
    Percussion 2: Sleigh Bells, Tam-tam, Susp. Cymbal (large), Bass Drum, Snare Drum

  3. Na Māui te Ahi a te Ao (Māui brings Fire to the World)
    Percussion 1: Sleigh Bells, Tam-tam, Susp. Cymbal (small), Guiro, Bass Drum, Whip, Wood Blocks, 2 Large Flat Stones
    Percussion 2: Sleigh Bells, Snare Drum, Susp. Cymbal (large), Crash Cymbals, Ratchet, Tambourine, 2 Large Flat Stones

  4. I Mate a Māui i a Hine-nui-te-Pō (The Death of Māui)
    Percussion 1: 4 Wood Blocks, 1 Tom-tom, Deep Gong, Susp. Cymbal (small), Crash Cymbals, Tam-tam
    Percussion 2: 4 Tom-toms, Whip, Bass Drum