Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Six Korean Love Poems

for mezzo-soprano and orchestra

Year:  2018   ·  Duration:  16m
Instrumentation:  2*1*22; 3230; timp., 1 perc. (susp. cymbal, wind chimes, tam-tam, castanets, conga drums); hp; strings

Year:  2018
Duration:  16m
Instrumentation  2*1*22; 3230; timp., 1 perc...

Composer:   Michael Vinten

Films, Audio & Samples

Michael Vinten: Six Korean ...

Embedded video
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Page 1 of each movement, full score.

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Poet Anne French visited Korea several times and became fascinated by Korean poets and their poetry, which, although very famous in their own country, are almost unknown outside Korea.

Rather than translations, Anne has taken their ideas and images and refashioned them, whilst retaining a flavour of the originals. Michael Vinten set them during 2015 and 2016, and they were premiered in Brisbane in 2016 by mezzo-soprano Sarah Court and Therese Milanovic in the original version for voice and piano.

Contents note

I. I do not know (after Han Yong- Un, 1879 - 1944)
II. Coverlet (after Hwang Chin-i)
III. Rather (after Han Yong-Un 1879 - 1944)
IV. Sweet Briar Rose (after Han Yong-Un, 1879 - 1944)
V. The silence of love (after Han Yong-Un, 1879-1944)
VI. Invocation (after Kim So-wol, 1903 - 1934)

Text note

Text by Anne French (after Han Yong-Un, Hwang Chin-I and Kim So-wol)