Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Relativity Quintet

Year:  2011   ·  Duration:  15m

Year:  2011
Duration:  15m

Samuel Gray

Composer:   Samuel Gray

Films, Audio & Samples

Samuel Gray: Relativity Qui...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Pages 21-28 of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Relativity Quintet is about how technological advances can be, and are, used both to the benefit and the detriment of humankind. Specifically inspired by Albert Einstein's general theory of relativity, we hear the inspiration of creativity and discovery in the first movement, where his famous E=mc² features prominently in the first violin and the piano. In the following movements, pacifist Einstein warns that his theory may be used to build a bomb, which is ignored; the US does in fact build a nuclear bomb, dropped on Hiroshima & Nagasaki (represented in Mvt. IV). The final movement expresses cautious hope that humankind will learn from its past mistakes.

Dedication note

Dedicated to those who have suffered, rather than profited, from technological progress.

Contents note

Five movements: Mvt I - Inspiration, Perspiration; Mvt II - World War II Begins; Mvt III - Einstein Warns the US about the Atomic Bomb; Mvt IV - Hiroshima, Nagasaki; Mvt V - The Future?