Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Nine Poems from "Meeting the Comet"

for countertenor or mezzo-soprano and piano

Year:  1999   ·  Duration:  15m

Year:  1999
Duration:  15m


This score is published by Donemus, and can be purchased here.

'Nine Poems from "Meeting the Comet"' is a setting of nine poems by New Zealand born, U.K. resident poet Fleur Adcock, from her set of twenty-four poems, 'Meeting the Comet'. These describe a young girl with a disablity and her encounter with Halley's Comet, as seen in the skies from New Zealand in the 1980s.

The piece in its original instrumentation for countertenor and guitar, was written at the invitation of Keiko Fujiie for countertenor Derek Lee Ragin and guitarist Kazuhito Yamashita. This recomposition for countertenor or mezzo-soprano and piano is written for the Edge Duo - Riccardo Strano and Nicolò Sbuelz.