Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for violin and small orchestra

Year:  2006   ·  Duration:  14m
Instrumentation:  2121; 1110; timp; strings

Year:  2006
Duration:  14m
Instrumentation  2121; 1110; timp; strings

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 8,14,22,26,31,36,45 and 48

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The first movement opens with the soloist presenting a theme based on the intervals of a minor third and perfect fourth. This establishes the modal flavour of this and the concluding movement, which is also based on a version of this motif. The first movement is a series of solo episodes and refrains from the orchestra, and includes a cadenza for the soloist; in the fourth the musical texture gradually builds, until the soloistic episodes of the first movement reoccur in the work’s coda, this time shared between soloist and various other instruments. The second movement is a lively scherzo featuring a duet between solo violin and timpani, punctuated by pizzicato strings and woodwind. In the adagio the violin solo ascends over muted strings; later joined by cantabile lines of woodwind and brass, the music adopts a freely modulating tonality.

The piece was given its first performance by these performers conducted by Joel Bolton in the ‘Sounds of New Zealand’ concert held at the Nelson School of Music in September 2006. The event was largely organised by the orchestra’s leader, Charlotte van Asch.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the Greenhill Orchestra Nelson (cond. Charlotte van Asch) and violinist Leigh Paine with funding from the Creative New Zealand Creative Communities Scheme.

Dedication note

For Leigh Paine and the Greenhill Orchestra Nelson.

Contents note

I. Tempo libero
II. Lively
III. Adagio
IV. Andante con moto

Performance history

16 Sep 2006: Performed by Kirtley Leigh Paine (violin); Greenhill Orchestra, cond. Joel Bolton; School of Music, Nelson