Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


String Quartet, Op. 11b

for string quartet

Year:  1997   ·  Duration:  18m

Year:  1997
Duration:  18m

Ray Twomey

Composer:   Ray Twomey

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Audio

Sample: "England" 0:00-1:00

See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1-8

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This work is the string quartet version of Sinfonia, opus 11a, and is a musical autobiography. Ray was born in England and lived through seven years of destruction, spending many nights in air raid shelters listening to the sounds of total war. An air raid, with its sirens, the drone of bombers, bombs dropping and anti-aircraft fire can be heard in the first movement. The main theme, which occurs soon after the opening, reappears inverted after the air raid - symbolic of the utter chaos prevalent at that time. However, like the Phoenix rising from the ashes, the theme not only corrects itself but changes from minor to major modality near the end. The second movement represents New Zealand with its bitter-sweet memories for the composer. New Zealand is a beautiful country. The humorous third movement, called "England again" is scored pizzicato throughout, and leads to the final movement "Canada" - big Canada, magnificent Canada, vast Canada, noble Canada, free Canada, beautiful Canada.... the huge but simple harmonies near the end are Ray's interpretation of the optimism he feels for the country.

Contents note

  1. England; Allegro moderato
  2. New Zealand; Andante
  3. England Again; Allegro vivace
  4. Canada; Allegro

Performance history

Performed by the Academic String Quartet