Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


The Frivolous Cake

for mezzo-soprano, flute, clarinet, soprano saxophone, cello and percussion

Year:  1990   ·  Duration:  13m
Instrumentation:  flute doubles piccolo and slide whistle; B flat clarinet doubles bass clarinet; sop sax doubles bass clarinet and slide whistle; cello; percussion (large suspended cymbal, 6 rototoms, 3 timpani, tamtam)

Year:  1990
Duration:  13m
Instrumentation  flute doubles piccolo and s...

Composer:   Helen Bowater

Films, Audio & Samples

Helen Bowater: The Frivolou...

Embedded audio
See details ➔

Helen Bowater: The Frivolou...

Embedded video
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1 - 4 of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


A setting of a poem from 'Titus Groan' by Mervyn Peake.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Queen Elizabeth II Arts Council (now Creative New Zealand) and the New Zealand Composers' Foundation for Sonic Boom, Wellington

Text note

Text by Mervyn Peake