Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Isaac Shatford

Composer, Performer


Isaac Shatford is a composer, violinist and pianist based in Christchurch. His works, which have been performed across New Zealand, include an eclectic range of styles; from orchestral and chamber music, to jazz and musical theatre.

In 2017, his orchestral work A Fleeting Fanfare was premiered by the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra, and was later workshopped by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra as a finalist in the Todd Young Composer Awards. Prior to that, A Sunset Overture was performed by the New Zealand Secondary Schools' Symphony Orchestra (NZSSSO). As the 2018 recipient of the Audrey Reid Composition Prize, his work The Thing was performed by the Dunedin Youth Orchestra.

One of the winners of NZTrio's inaugural composition competition "Celebrating Lilburn," his piano trio Aeroplanes Over Aotearoa was performed by NZTrio in Auckland and Wellington.

Isaac was commissioned by St Andrew's College to compose Real Mature for 4 violins. The piece was subsequently performed by "Quartetto Maduro" in the 2019 NZCT Chamber Music Contest; the group placed in the national final. Isaac's previous experience with the contest includes winning the Senior Composition award in 2014. His string quartet, Frost and Fire, was performed at the national final.

Isaac composed the music for Suspect, the murder mystery musical, which has been performed in Christchurch and Dunedin. Isaac's own musical A Moment Musical was workshopped at the 2017 Christchurch International Musical Theatre Summer School. In 2019, Gray Eats A Pretzel was workshopped and performed at UMMTA's "The Sitzprobe" in Melbourne.

Isaac is a recent graduate of University of Otago, with a Bachelor of Music with first-class Honours, majoring in Composition and Performance Violin.

Composed (5)

A Fleeting Fanfare

for orchestra, 4m 30s

Aeroplanes Over Aotearoa

for piano trio, 5m

Love's Secret

for 6-part mixed choir, piano and optional cello soloist, 3m 30s

Real Mature

for four violins, 11m

The Thing

for orchestra, 4m