Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for orchestra

Year:  2023   ·  Duration:  10m
Instrumentation:  Piccolo, Flutes (1,2), Oboes (1,2), Clarinets (1,2 in Bb), Bassoons (1,2), Horns (1,2,3,4 in F), Trumpets (1,2,3 in C), Trombones (1,2 in C), Tuba, Violins (1,2), Viola, Cello, Double Bass, Timpani, Percussion (1,2,3 Bass drum, Tam-tam, Suspended cymbal, Tubular bells, Xylophone, Crotales).

Year:  2023
Duration:  10m
Instrumentation  Piccolo, Flutes (1,2), Oboe...

Composer:   Briar Prastiti

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: first 8 pages of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Greek mythology tells the story of Pegasus, a flying horse and noble companion of Zeus. Pegasus (2023) was initially inspired by reminiscences of Briar’s childhood in Tauranga, and the nostalgic memories of riding her horse down and up the forest gully. As the horse galloped back up to the top, it felt as though she was flying. The spirit of the horse in the earthly sense is depicted in the playful and vigorous opening and closing sections of the piece, invoking a sense of movement, energy and galloping rhythm. The horse transforms into the ethereal spirit of Pegasus, felt in the music by a contrast that occurs the moment the rhythm breaks free, taking flight into a lighter, more starry-like passage of music. In both worlds, the earthly horse and the ethereal horse are poetically intertwined. Zeus appreciated Pegasus so much that he turned him into a constellation in the stars forever, which takes the meaning of Pegasus into an even deeper more cosmic dimension of love, pathos, and remembrance.

This piece is dedicated to our dear family members who now rest with Pegasus in the stars, Luka Henderson, Ashton Henderson, and Daniel Henderson.

Commissioned note

commissioned by the Bay of Plenty Symphonia in Tauranga in 2023

Dedication note

to Luka Henderson, Ashton Henderson, and Daniel Henderson

Contents note

one movement