Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Aagje's Lied

for solo violin

Year:  2014   ·  Duration:  7m

Year:  2014
Duration:  7m

Composer:   Mark Menzies

Films, Audio & Samples

Mark Menzies - Aagje's Lied...

Embedded video
See details ➔


Mark Menzies’s charming and disarming ‘Aagje's Lied’ was written as part of a set of violin pieces in 2014, collectively titled ‘Summer Tributaries’.

Mark writes, “The tributary flow of music for Aagje's Lied is the opening theme of Mozart's piano sonata in A major, K331: the violin part keeps drifting off into harmonics, offering the listener a palimpsest-like shadow of the originating theme's undulations. Aagje is the given name of my mother, who was born in Holland; the piece is dedicated to her.”