Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Symphony No. 3

for orchestra

Year:  1975   ·  Duration:  25m
Instrumentation:  122*2 + soprano saxophone; 4221; timp., percussion; electric guitar; strings

Year:  1975
Duration:  25m
Instrumentation  122*2 + soprano saxophone;...

Denis Betro

Composer:   Denis Betro

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: first 8 pages of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


I wrote this the first movement of this symphony entirely without recourse to a musical instrument. It was the first and only time that I ever attempted that. I was working as a night manager at the time in a London hotel which allowed me ample time for music. I was taking a refresher course in orchestration and studying for a fellowship at the same time.

The remaining three movements were not composed until 1979. The whole work was played at an open rehearsal of the Fulham Municipal Orchestra under Joseph Vandernoot.

Contents note

Adagio cantabile
Allegro vivace

The addition of an electric guitar to the orchestration, which I played at the performance, proved to be a problem subsequently. Electric guitar players are innumerable but finding one who could follow a score and count bars was difficult.