Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Tua Marina Sonata

for solo guitar

Year:  2017   ·  Duration:  14m

Year:  2017
Duration:  14m

Bruce Paine

Composer:   Bruce Paine

Films, Audio & Samples

Bruce Paine: Tua Marina Son...

Embedded video
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: page 5, 10, and 14 of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Tua Marina Sonata is a tribute to the New Zealand composer Douglas Lilburn. Some of the composer’s most outstanding work was written for the piano, the instrument he played and knew so well. He wrote a variety of works for different instrument combinations, including several full symphonies, string and brass quartets and a set of 'Seventeen Pieces' for Guitar. Bruce Paine’s guitar work honours Lilburn by embracing the challenge he presented to fellow composers of his day in his speech 'A Search for a Tradition' and therefore by drawing inspiration from personal experiences of New Zealand landscape. The name 'Tua Marina' is a corruption of the Maori words tua marino meaning ‘The calm beyond’.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by John Couch with funding from Creative New Zealand

Dedication note

for John Couch

Contents note

  1. Prelude
  2. Journey
  3. Destination
  4. Freedom