Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Aotearoa Suite

for guitar quartet

Year:  2016

Year:  2016

Bruce Paine

Composer:   Bruce Paine


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Written for the New Zealand Guitar Quartet, Aotearoa Suite is an exploration of the quartet medium, in which the composer plays with the balance and range within the ensemble as he progresses through the various textures and dances. He says of the work, "I wanted it to be based on New Zealand themes and reflect our national identity, and by doing so create a tribute of sorts to music-making in Aotearoa. The first section, Fanfare, presents a 'melting pot' of melodic fragments vying for attention, evolving and eventually settling into the slightly jazzy 'Basso Ostinato' section, which conjures images of a night-time, inner-city jaunt. The March section is reminiscent of community folk music. The concept of Lullaby is universal, whereas Fugue is about church music and organ recitals."

Contents note

1. Fanfare
2. Chaconne
3. March
4. Lullaby
5. Fugue
6. March reprise