Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


The Turakina Canticles (Series 1)

for soprano and piano

Year:  2014   ·  Duration:  6m

Year:  2014
Duration:  6m

Composer:   William Green

Films, Audio & Samples

William Green: No. 4 'Memor...

Embedded video
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: first page of each song

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The Turakina Canticles is an ongoing series of short songs with texts penned by New Zealand composers.

Series 1:

No. 1 ('The Peaceful Village') sets a poem provided by Jenny McLeod
No. 2 ('From Owhiro Bay') sets a programme note by Gareth Farr to his Landscape Prelude, 'The Horizon from Owhiro Bay'
No. 3 ('The Poet's Jewels') sets a poem by Bryony Jagger from her 'Villa Domestica'
No. 4 ('Memories...') sets the opening paragraphs of Douglas Lilburn's 'Memories of Early Years' (with kind permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library Endowment Trust), an autobiography of his childhood in the Turakina Valley, which gives the name to the series.

Dedication note

Helen Acheson (No. 2) and Bryony Jagger (No. 3)

Text note

  1. Jenny McLeod
  2. Gareth Farr
  3. Bryony Jagger
  4. Douglas Lilburn