Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for viola and piano

Year:  2017   ·  Duration:  4m

Year:  2017
Duration:  4m

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: First three pages of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Supplication features an expansive, expressive melodic line heard over the whole of the viola’s range, supported by insistent, slightly brooding harmonies combining major and minor triads in the piano part. These act as a support to the wide-ranging melodic line, giving the piece its particular character. Later on melodic material made up of perfect fourths also feature, leading on to the motif of a falling perfect 5th heard in the accompaniment at the piece’s close.

The title, ‘Supplication’ (or ‘Prayer’) need not be thought of as relating to any specific religious tradition but rather as being indicative of any heartfelt request or petition.

Supplication was composed in its original version for oboe and piano in Cyberjaya, Malaysia in July 2016 as an entrant to the 2016 Australasian Double Reed Society (ADRS) (NSW Branch) Composition Competition. The work was subsequently chosen as one of the four finalists and first performed at the ADRS conference competition final and concert held at Sydney Grammar School, Darlington on October 1 2016 by Thomas Hutchinson (oboe) and Jeanell Carrigan (piano). The version for viola and piano was made early in 2017 and is dedicated to Luis Enrique Casal.

Dedication note

Dedicated to Luis Enrique Casal