Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for sextet

Year:  2019   ·  Duration:  4m 45s
Instrumentation:  alto saxophone, vibraphone, piano, violin, cello and double bass

Year:  2019
Duration:  4m 45s
Instrumentation  alto saxophone, vibraphone,...

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1 - 8 of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Love and longing can be bittersweet. This particular quality is expressed in the piece through the use of “wrong” (bitter) notes within the extended tonal (sweet) harmonies. Bittersweet is composed in A-B-A-coda form. The A section features energetic pulsing rhythms in 7/8 time signature. The B section is more contemplative in tone, featuring the piano as soloist. The reprise of the first section leads to a boisterous climax, after which the gentle coda brings us down to earth, acting perhaps as a slightly quizzical look back at events.

The original version of this piece for 14 instruments was composed in response to the second call for scores in early 2018 from La Belle Musique, Singapore for their program ‘Love and Longing’. This version for sextet of alto saxophone, vibraphone, piano, violin, cello and double bass was completed in December 2019.