Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Lento sostenuto, Menuett, Andante, and Scherzo

for string quartet

Year:  1890

Year:  1890

Alfred Hill

Composer:   Alfred Hill

Films, Audio & Samples

Alfred HIll: Lento sostenut...

Embedded video
See details ➔


Alfred Hill’s string quartet ‘Lento sostenuto, Menuett, Andante, and Scherzo’ pre-dates his String Quartet No.1. Written in 1890 while a student at Leipzig Conservatory, it seems the work was not performed at the time, but one of its movements was re-purposed in another Hill string quartet, as well as being orchestrated for one of his early symphonies.

Research undertaken by American ethnomusicologist-composer Thomas Erik Nielsen, with support from long-time Hill scholar Donald Maurice, has resulted in the reconstituting of the original quartet