Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for alto flute, harp, violin, viola and cello

Year:  2015   ·  Duration:  4m

Year:  2015
Duration:  4m

Composer:   Sarah Ballard

Films, Audio & Samples

Sarah Ballard: Meditation a...

Embedded video
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Page 1-3

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This response revolves around what is to me, one of Lilburn’s most striking moments to be heard amongst his instrumental writing – the opening gesture of the first of his nine short pieces. This vibrant, ascending sweep of notes merge together, overtones mingling and then diffuses, leaving a vivid purity of tone to emerge from the resonance of the gesture’s uppermost note. I have simply let the rest of the piece evolve out of this space and resonance while keeping in mind the characteristics of the initial gesture.

– Sarah Ballard

Commissioned note

Composed for the Stroma New Music Ensemble for the centenary of Douglas Lilburn.

Performance history