Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for soprano, violin, cello and piano

Year:  1995   ·  Duration:  9m

Year:  1995
Duration:  9m

Films, Audio & Samples

Gillian Whitehead: Haiku; v...

Embedded video
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: page 1-6

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Haiku is a setting of twenty-one haiku written by Alan Wells, published in "The New Zealand Haiku Anthology", edited by Cyril Childs (Wellington: The New Zealand Poetry Society Inc., 1993), and used with the kind permission of the poet. Haiku, originally written for instrumental ensemble to celebrate Douglas Lilburn's eightieth birthday, was rearranged and given its first performance by the Dunedin-based Lyric Trio (Ana Good, Rebecca Maurice, Joyce Whitehead). The haiku are concisely set; they draw on imagery both local and universal.

Performance history

13 Nov 2015: Performed by Jenny Wollerman (soprano), Martin Riseley (violin), Inbal Megiddo (cello) and Jian Liu (piano) at the Remembering Lilburn concert, Adam Concert Room, Te Kōkī New Zealand School of Music, Wellington.

+ Read More