Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Sonata for Violin and Piano

for violin and piano

Year:  2012   ·  Duration:  20m

Year:  2012
Duration:  20m

Composer:   Graham Parsons

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: first two pages of each movement

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This sonata was written for an accomplished amateur violinist and pianist.

1st Movement: Begins with a smooth flowing melody over a restless accompaniment. A contrasting second theme is rather more active for the violinist. A third lyrical tune with its development is followed by a development of the second theme. The movement closes with the opening theme.

2nd Movement: A gentle opening is followed by a skittish theme which moves into a very strict march. this finally dissolves back to the gentle opening.

3rd Movement: A lively movement with a number of semiquaver, quaver figures, which eventually tune into quasi 'circus music.'

4th Movement: This movement opens with a repeated note figure followed by a chirpy second subject. This is extended into a short development before a dramatic return to the repeated note theme, and ending with a final flourish!

Difficulty note

Suitable for a good amateur violinist and pianist

Contents note

Four movements:
Allegro - Andante - Scherzo Allegretto - Allegretto