Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Concertino for Oboe and Strings

for solo oboe and string orchestra

Year:  2012   ·  Duration:  12m

Year:  2012
Duration:  12m

David Hamilton

Composer:   David Hamilton

Films, Audio & Samples

David Hamilton: Concertino ...

Embedded video
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: pages 1-3 of each movement

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This short work grew out of the middle movement. Originally composed for violin and strings, “Memorial” was first performed in a version for oboe and strings by the chamber orchestra of St Mary’s College, Auckland. It was suggested I might like to expand this into a larger work for oboe and strings, given there was a fine young oboe player in the school.

The completed concertino consists of a traditional three movement form: fast-slow-fast. The first movement has elements of Baroque period writing in it, including a short fugal section based on the opening melody. The second movement, Memorial, is a slow and poignant movement written at a time when New Zealand was experiencing a number of tragedies – the Pike River mining tragedy and the Christchurch earthquakes. The final movement, Hoe-Down, is a complete contrast, being a purely fun and rhythmic piece of writing suggesting the music of the old time western USA.

Difficulty note

Suitable for school and community orchestras

Contents note

Three movements