Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Convergence - Triple Concerto

for violin, cello, piano and orchestra

Year:  2007 Instrumentation:  solo violin, cello, and piano; 2*222; 2200; timp., 2 perc.; strings | (Perc: tam-tam, susp. cymbal, ride cymbal, sizzle cymbal, shaker/tamb., windchimes, tri., glock., temple blocks, bongos, snare drum)

Year:  2007
Instrumentation  solo violin, cello, and pia...

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Page 1 - 4

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The title of this work Convergence, occurred to me only after it was complete and it relates primarily to the second movement, which opens with a prelude that introduces somewhat pointillistic musical elements that eventually "converge" into a Passacaglia.

There are three main sections in this work. The first two could be described as "movements" and the third a reprise of the Fantasy but substantially altered. Much of this piece is composed using a system of note clusters in a somewhat tonal environment, but Passacaglia inhabits more familiar territory.

The two cadenzas in this work are for the solo strings, the cello cadenza is in the first movement and the violin's is at the end of the Passacaglia. It seemed unnecessary and perhaps arbitrary to write a piano cadenza - there being a number of occasions where the piano has fairly virtuosic solo passages.

Michael Williams

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the New Zealand Chamber Soloists and Opus Orchestra

Dedication note

for the New Zealand Chamber Soloists and Opus Orchestra

Contents note

  1. Fantasy
  2. Prelude and Passacaglia
  3. Reprise

Performance history

13 Sep 2008: Connections 2008

14 Sep 2008: Connections 2008

27 May 2009: 'Bang on a Can' fundraiser

02 May 2010: 18th NZSO-SOUNZ Readings

Performed by the New Zealand Chamber Soloists, Lara Hall (violin), Katherine Austin (piano) and James Tennant (cello) with Opus Orchestra conducted by Peter Walls

+ Read More