Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Short Symphony No. 10

for orchestra

Year:  1958   ·  Duration:  18m 28s

Year:  1958
Duration:  18m 28s

Alfred Hill

Composer:   Alfred Hill


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The Short Symphony No. 10 was written in 1958, and is again based on an earlier String Quartet in C Major, written 20 years before, for Hill's resignation from the New South Wales Conservatorium. The first movement starts with a slow, solemn and relatively extended opening section, leading to a lively Allegro, which suddenly merges in all its romantic lyricism, to return once more to the mood with which the movement began, before ending in full lyrical splendour. The slow movement launches itself into sombre territory, the main thematic material framing a central lyrical section featuring solo woodwind, in which each instrument takes its turn. The symphony ends with a vigorous enough Allegretto, which belies the direction that heads it. This and what goes before and testimony to the soundness of Hill's craftsmanship and to the effectiveness of his schooling in Leipzig, as well as to a distinct affinity to the composers to the late nineteenth century in Europe, to Grieg and to Dvorak, and others of his own generation.

by Keith Anderson
from Alfred Hill - Symphonies No. 5 and 10, Marco Polo

Contents note

I. Quasi Adagio - Allegro
II. Adagio ma non troppo
III. Finale: Allegretto conspirito

Performance history

Performed by the Queensland Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Wilfred Lehmann at the ABC Music Centre, Brisbane in February, 1993