Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Symphony No. 5 - The Carnival

for orchestra

Year:  1955   ·  Duration:  20m 21s

Year:  1955
Duration:  20m 21s

Alfred Hill

Composer:   Alfred Hill


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Hill's Symphony No. 5 in A Minor - The Carnival, was derived, in 1955, from the 1912 String Quartet in A Minor. At the time of the original composition he had joined Cyril Monk's Austral Quartet as second violin, but the transformation of the Carnival Quartet is complete. The work opens with a lively first movement, proceeding to an equally energetic Scherzo. The slow movement opens with a gently drawn-out melody, as always in the style inculcated in Leipzig in the 1890s and none the worse for that. The tradition survived with Hill in part because of his own conservatism but was also a result of his relative isolation from the mainstream of Western music and the new course it was taking, even in 1912, and most certainly by 1955. The Adagio is a fine example of music of an earlier age and is followed by an Allegro risoluto, a dance movement of varied textures, including an episode for solo violin and solemn chorale, framed by the emphatic Spanish-style dance that provides the main thematic element in the movement.

by Keith Anderson
from Alfred Hill - Symphonies Nos. 5 and 10, Marco Polo

Contents note

I. Allegro di bravura
II. Scherzo: Allegro
III. Adagio con gravita
IV. Finale: Allegro risoluto

Performance history

20 Sep 2009: Wellington Chamber Orchestra

Performed by the Queensland Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Wilfred Lehmann at the ABC Music Centre, Brisbane in February, 1993

+ Read More