Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Refrains, Cadenzas and Interludes

for string quartet

Year:  1971   ·  Duration:  12m
Instrumentation:  violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello

Year:  1971
Duration:  12m
Instrumentation  violin 1, violin 2, viola, ...

John Rimmer

Composer:   John Rimmer

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Page 1

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Refrains, Cadenzas and Interludes for string quartet was composed in 1971 and was one of four works awarded prizes in the original compositions for string quartet competition administered by the APRA Music Committee in New Zealand and the New Zealand Broadcasting Corporation in that year.

As the title implies, the work contrasts three different styles of writing for strings. Four ‘refrains’ feature jagged rhythmic outbursts of short motives. Three cadenzas each for cello, viola and violin respectively present soloistic passages accompanied by sustained chordal textures. By contrast, the three Interludes are generally soft and reflective in mood.

Refrains, Cadenzas and Interludes was first performed at the 1972 Cambridge Summer Music School.

Contents note

one movement

Performance history

First performed at the Cambridge Summer Music School in 1972