Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for violin and piano

Year:  2008   ·  Duration:  12m

Year:  2008
Duration:  12m

Composer:   Anthony Ritchie

Films, Audio & Samples

Anthony Ritchie: Meditation...

Embedded video
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: pages 1-8

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Meditation was commissioned by Tessa Petersen and John Van Buskirk for performance in a concert celebrating the opening of the Chinese Gardens in Dunedin, New Zealand, 2008. The piece takes an ancient Chinese poem as its point of departure, a text that focuses on Nature and its relationship to humans. The music spontaneously expresses thoughts of Nature and beauty, using simple ideas based around modes, repeated ostinati, and a mixture of long melodic lines and shorter motifs. Various timbres on both instruments are explored, and the pianist plays on the strings of the instrument with mallets at the beginning and end of the piece. The piece is structured in 3 main sections: slow-faster-slow, and all sections are played without a break.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Tessa Petersen and John van Buskirk

Tessa Petersen

Dedication note

Dedicated to Tessa and John

Contents note

one movement - With calm intensity - a little slower with rubato - quicker - slower with rubato - very calm

Performance history

19 Sep 2008: Oriental Phantasy

02 May 2012: New Zealand Music Month Lunchtime Concert

23 May 2013: Performed as part of the APO Young Achievers concert at the AUckland Central Library, in Auckland.

08 Jun 2014: La Belle Alliance - GORE

15 Jun 2014: La Belle Alliance - WHANGAREI

13 Jul 2014: La Belle Alliance - NELSON

+ Read More