Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Polyphonic Chords

graphic score for four players (originally intended for four cellos)

Year:  1980

Year:  1980

Composer:   Michael Smither


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This is a set of pieces to be played by four instruments.

Composer's instruction is that each musician takes a colour, and the four players play the colours concurrently. Each of the 12 pieces can be played in any order, with the performers to decide how many and in which order to perform them. There can be a break or not between pieces.

In the "Michael Smither" book it states "The polyphonic chords developed out of gestural drawings meant to be read by players of musical instruments capable of glissanding or bending notes, and were designed specifically for four cellos."

Donald Armstrong