Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Five Pieces

for piano

Year:  2002   ·  Duration:  26m 30s

Year:  2002
Duration:  26m 30s

Composer:   Kenneth Young

Films, Audio & Samples

Kenneth Young: A Time and P...

Embedded video
See details ➔

Kenneth Young: A Time and P...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: first page of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Commissioned note

Written for Michael Houstoun's Chamber Music New Zealand tour

Dedication note

'A Time and Place There Was' dedicated to the memory of Douglas Lilburn

Contents note

  1. Questions
  2. Dancing Alone
  3. Remnants
  4. A Time and Place There Was (in memory of Douglas Lilburn)
  5. Catharsis

Performance history

01 May 2005: Performed by Michael Houstoun (piano); Festival of Colour, Lake Wanaka

13 Nov 2015: Performed by Jian Liu (piano) at the Remembering Lilburn concert, Adam Concert Room, Te Kōkī New Zealand School of Music, Wellington

Performed by Michael Houstoun (piano) in 2007

+ Read More