Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Written on the Wind, and Running Water

for string quartet

Year:  2001   ·  Duration:  11m

Year:  2001
Duration:  11m

Composer:   Philip Brownlee

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Audio

Sample: 00'00'' - 01'00''

See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1-3

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The image of the title appears in a poem by the Roman poet Catullus (poem LXX, although it is the image itself, not its context in the poem that attracted my attention). It suggests something fleeting, something ephemeral, something just out of the reach of conscious perception. There are no doubt also more literal echoes of wind, water, and the natural environment, but this is very much a landscape of the mind.

Difficulty note

Programme & performance notes with score. Techniques include microtones, harmonics, and specialised bowing techniques.

Contents note

one movement

Performance history

23 Sep 2003: Performed by Quartet Excelsior as part of the Asian Music Festival in Tokyo, Japan

19 Apr 2005: Performed at the International Society for Contemporary Music - World Music Days/Music Biennale Zagreb, in Zagreb

+ Read More