Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for violin and piano

Year:  2012   ·  Duration:  4m 30s

Year:  2012
Duration:  4m 30s

Composer:   Philip Brownlee

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Page 1-2

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Pariwhero is a place on the south coast of Wellington, New Zealand, where iron deposits give the rocks a blood-red tinge. The surrounding landscape is rugged: steep, rocky hills, and the unpredictable waters of Cook Strait. There are the outlines of wind and water in the music, but its centre is an emotional response to the landscape.

As an encore, the music takes an understated approach. The violin part is suspended in an open space, so that the sound itself becomes the centre of attention.

Pariwhero received an Honorable Mention in the public contest for In 27 Pieces: The Hilary Hahn Encores.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Hilary Hahn, as part of In 27 Pieces: The Hilary Hahn Encores

Dedication note

To Hilary Hahn