Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Three Sketches

for solo violin

Year:  1998   ·  Duration:  4m

Year:  1998
Duration:  4m


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


I wrote these pieces because I felt like it and had nothing better to do that day. The first sketch uses various notes as does Sketches 2 and 3.

They are to be played on a Violin, which is a wooden thing with strings, played by a violin player also known as a violinist.


In 1998 I heard a live performance of Anthony Watson’s piece for solo viola. Although my pieces are not in any way connected or even similar to Watsons, they certainly inspired me to write something for a solo stringed instrument.

The basic outline for these pieces is a moderate, slow, fast format. Sketch 1 should capture some of the rhythmic characteristics of the Baroque period with a more contemporary sounding middle section.

The second sketch is somewhat modal in character with a brief rhythmic nod to Shostakovich. With its inherent lyrical character, I hoped that this would provide a contrast to sketches 2 and 3.

The third sketch is fast, furious and agitated. Perhaps the only movement which is in any way similar to that of Watson's.

Contents note

Three movements:

Sketch 1: moderato
Sketch 2: andante
Sketch 3: allegro con fuoco

Performance history

Performed by Trudi Miles (violin)