Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Nine Poems from "Meeting the Comet"

for countertenor and guitar

Year:  1999   ·  Duration:  13m

Year:  1999
Duration:  13m

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1,13,16,22

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Nine poems selected from the set of twenty-four making up Fleur Adcock's collection Meeting the Comet, a tale of a differently-abled young girl and her quest to follow Halley's Comet via telescopes in the crater of Auckland's Mt. Albert; along the way recollecting seeing glow worms as a child and detailing the growing pangs of her path to adulthood. The poetic text and musical accompaniment are closely linked, as I often used the former to realise the latter through a process of musical transliteration.

Commissioned note

Composed for Yatsugatake Kogen Music Festival 1999, Japan at the request of Keiko Fujiie, Festival Director

Dedication note

Brian Queenin

Contents note

  1. Poem 3
  2. Poem 6
  3. Poem 9 – So far
  4. Poem 11 – Stars
  5. Poem 14 – Comet
  6. Poem 15 – Halley Party
  7. Poem 18
  8. Poem 22
  9. Poem 24

Text note

Poems by Fleur Adcock published by Bloodaxe Books Ltd