Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Theme and Variations: The Search

for orchestra

Year:  1998   ·  Duration:  15m
Instrumentation:  3*222; 4231; timp., 2 perc., celesta; strings | (Perc: glock. ,xylo., triangle, tam-tam, bass drum, crash cymbals, susp. cymbal)

Year:  1998
Duration:  15m
Instrumentation  3*222; 4231; timp., 2 perc....

Composer:   Anthony Ritchie

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: first page of theme and Variations 1–8

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Commissioned note

Commissioned by the Dunedin Sinfonia (now Southern Sinfonia) in 1998 for its subscription series and funded by Creative New Zealand

Contents note

Theme - adagio Variation 1 - same tempo - "Travelling alone" Variation 2 - Poco piu mosso - "The restless spirit" Variation 3 - Same tempo - "Doubts" Variation 4 - Andante marcato - "Determination" Variation 5 - Same tempo - "Striving" Variation 6 - Adagio - "Earnscleugh" Variation 7 - Allegro molto - "Fierce optimism" Variation 8 - Same tempo - "The Block" Coda - Largamento - "The Search continues"

Performance history

04 Jul 1998: Performed by the Dunedin Sinfonia (now the Southern Sinfonia) conducted by Andrew Sewell in Dunedin Town Hall

27 Nov 1998: Performed in a rehearsed reading by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra conducted by Marc Taddei as part of the NZSO-SOUNZ Readings

+ Read More