Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Three Pieces for Strings

for string orchestra

Year:  1980   ·  Duration:  10m
Instrumentation:  min. 10 8 8 6 4

Year:  1980
Duration:  10m
Instrumentation  min. 10 8 8 6 4

Composer:   Anthony Ritchie


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


These pieces were composed while Ritchie was a second year student at Canterbury University, in 1980. They received their first performance at the Cambridge Summer Music school later that year. The three movements, lasting 9 minutes, are entitled Agitation, Resignation and Desperation, and show a willingness to explore free-tonal effects to create a restless quality in the music. Resignation is a Shostakovich-like passacaglia, based on a 12-note theme, while the opening movement features changing metres.

Performance history