Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Antiphony: Pictures of Villon for 15 musicians

for 2 sopranos, 2 tenors, 2 baritones, 3 percussion and string quintet

Year:  1972   ·  Duration:  40m

Year:  1972
Duration:  40m

Composer:   Richard Bolley

Films, Audio & Samples


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Inspired by the music and poetry associated with the Burgundian court in the 15th century, Antiphony dramatises the life and work of the poet François Villon in a 40-minute piece for soprano, baritone, string quintet and percussion.

Dedication note

To Sir Michael Tippett

Contents note

  1. Sinfonia
  2. Cantata
  3. Scena
  4. Aria

Text note

Text by Francois Villon, Charles d'Orleans, Gillaume Dufay, Gilles Binchois, Jan van Eyck, The brothers Limbourg