Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Ear-Walking Woman

for prepared piano with amplification

Year:  1996   ·  Duration:  22m

Year:  1996
Duration:  22m

Composer:   Annea Lockwood

Films, Audio & Samples

Annea Lockwood: Ear-Walking...

Embedded video
See details ➔

Elizabeth Kerr interviews A...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Video

Sample: Excerpt played by Lois Svard

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


For prepared piano and exploring pianist, uses the classic piano piano preparations: coins (to detune the strings), screws, wiring insulation sheathing, plus bubble wrap, a rubber ball and small wooden balls, two round stones, a bowl gong, mallets and a water glass. The piece was commissioned by Lois Svard, to whom it is dedicated and who has given many superb performances of it.

When I started experimenting with these objects on my own piano, I found that even slight changes in the method of producing a sound evoked striking variants in sonic details, for example: rocking a stone gently between two sets of strings brins out several pitches and their overtones, iterating in unpredictable rhythms. Getting the stone to rock really hard adds higher pitches and at times the stone will turn over, setting of a new set of strings and pitches, which gradually fade away as the stone comes to rest.

The work is set up as an open-ended exploration, in which have determined which 'tools' are to be used in each section, and the pianist is asked to listen closely to the sounds created by each action, and to explore further the variants which arise when she or he uses a little more pressure and change of speed, a slightly different wrist position, a different make of piano. I think of this experience as "ear-walking", like a hiker exploring a landscape.

Annea Lockwood

Commissioned note

Written for Lois Svard

Performance history

28 Mar 2010: Performed by Sarah Cahill (piano) at Caramoor Center for Music and the Arts, Katonah, New York, USA

Performed by Lois Svard (piano)