Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Octet: Infiltration

for chamber octet

Year:  1992   ·  Duration:  5m
Instrumentation:  flute, oboe, clarinet, bass clarinet, violin, cello, guitar and harp

Year:  1992
Duration:  5m
Instrumentation  flute, oboe, clarinet, bass...

Composer:   Neville Hall

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 26-33

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Octet: Infiltration begins as two quartets, one of wind and the other of strings. The wind group is displaced from the central performance area, so the timbral groupings are initially delineated both in time and space. The process of the piece is that of the wind players one by one "infiltrating" the string group. This accounts for the four solos which form the second section of the piece, often coloured and embellished by the instruments that are already part of the main group. The unaccompanied clarinet solo leads to the main body of the piece where the ensemble functions as a whole. Here material previously hinted at crystalises into a series of interrelated textures and gestures. Octet: Infiltration was composed in Siena, italy, while the composer was studying with Franco Donatoni at the Accademia Musical Chigiana in July and August 1992. It was premiered in Siena by Octandre, directed by Giorgio Magnanensi.