Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Variation Suite

for string orchestra

Year:  1989   ·  Duration:  9m

Year:  1989
Duration:  9m

Composer:   Craig Utting

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Page 1-4.

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This piece was commissioned by Nova Strings for their 1989 tour to the USA.

The Variation Suite consist of a theme with seven variations, forming a suite of short piece. Each variation uses parts of the theme in different ways, resulting in a variety of textures and styles. Some movements become small sets of variations on themselves, yet all are linked to the common theme.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Nova Strings with assistance form Queen Elizabeth II and Composers' Foundation

Contents note

Theme and 7 variations.