Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


The Blue Sonata

for cello and piano

Year:  1999   ·  Duration:  23m

Year:  1999
Duration:  23m

Composer:   Anthony Ritchie

Films, Audio & Samples

Anthony Ritchie: The Blue S...

Internal audio
See details ➔
Sample Audio

Sample: 1:01-2:01 first movement

See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1-2,13-14,24-25,30-31

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The Blue Sonata, for cello and piano was commissioned by Euan Murdoch, with funding from Creative New Zealand, for performance by Euan and pianist, Terence Dennis. It is in four movements: I - Grave - Andante energico, II - Allegretto, III - Adagio mesto, IV - Allegro vigoroso.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Euan Murdoch for performance by Euan Murdoch and Terence Dennis (piano). Composed with the aid of funding from Creative New Zealand.

Dedication note

Dedicated to Euan Murdoch

Contents note

  1. Grave - Andante energico
  2. Allegretto
  3. Adagio mesto
  4. Allegro vigoroso

Performance history

01 Sep 2002: Performed by Euan Murdoch (cello), Terrence Dennis (piano) at the Waikanae Memorial Hall

Performed by David Chickering (cello) and Richard Mapp (piano)

+ Read More