Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Serenade for Wind Quartet

for wind quartet

Year:  1951   ·  Duration:  12m
Instrumentation:  oboe, 2 clarinets, bassoon

Year:  1951
Duration:  12m
Instrumentation  oboe, 2 clarinets, bassoon

Composer:   David Farquhar

Films, Audio & Samples

David Farquhar: Serenade - ...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1, 15 and 22

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The structure is modelled on Bartok's String Quartet No. 6, with 3 quick movements, each proceeded by a slow introduction – the 3 treatments of the introduction become fuller each time. There are also Bartokian rhythmic influence: 5/8, 11/8, 7/4 movements and sections.

I think (?) it had a student performance at Cambridge; I also entered it for the Soviets for the Performance of New Music (SPNM) who accepted it, but by then I was a student with Ben Frankel's class at the Guildhall in London, and he advised me to withdraw it – on the grounds (as I remember) that I could do better! Perhaps I could, but looking back at it, I feel it has a youthful freshness, so I've put it into the SOUNZ library as being available for performance. No takers yet!

I've also made arrangements of the Trio section of the 2nd movement as a separate piece, called Musette. The solo guitar version is published in Sue Court's Guitar Aotearoa, and there is a piano version in a set of 8 pieces called Off-beat (1992, unpublished), which shows that I still like this bit of the Serenade, at least!

Contents note

Three movements

Performance history