Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Triple Clarinet Concerto

for E flat clarinet, B flat clarinet, bass clarinet and orchestra

Year:  1991   ·  Duration:  28m
Instrumentation:  2*2*02*; 4231; perc.; solo E flat, B flat and bass clarinets; strings | (Perc: xylo., sn.dr, tub. bells, sleigh bells, maracas, cl. cyms., glock., tri., cast., guiro, bs.dr, mar., 2 susp. cyms., tamb., 4 roto-toms)

Year:  1991
Duration:  28m
Instrumentation  2*2*02*; 4231; perc.; solo ...

Films, Audio & Samples

Eve de Castro-Robinson: Tri...

Embedded video
See details ➔
Sample Audio

Sample: No description given

See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Page 1

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Scored for E flat, B flat and bass clarinets with orchestra this work was reviewed as, "a magnificent reward to the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra...a civilised and serious piece, but also delightfully witty...scored with a delicacy and sophistication that shows a very sure ear, alert to the details that enliven an orchestral score." (Rod Biss, NZ Listener) "The music is over-flowing with colourful percussive strokes and tongue-in-cheek parody." (Matthew Suttor, Music in NZ) "The three clarinets effectively behave as a 'super-clarinet' with an enormous range of five octaves. Set against the other instruments...the result is a vibrant glitter of timbre." (Suzanne Court, Music in NZ)

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra, 1991

Dedication note

Dedicated to the musicians of the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra.

Contents note

Three movements and two interludes

Performance history

Premiered in 1992 by Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra conducted by Eduoard Chivzhel with soloists Shona Charlton (E flat clarinet), Peter Scholes (B flat clarinet) and Nicola May (bass clarinet).

Performed by the Auckland Philharmonia conducted by John Hopkins with soloists Shona Carlton (E flat clarinet), Peter Scholes (B flat clarinet) and Nicola May (bass clarinet)

+ Read More